The American Association of Kidney Patients has announced the recipients of its 2018 Medal of Excellence. The award is the association’s highest honor for kidney health care professionals.

“It is an honor to recognize professionals committed to improving the lives of patients through research, technology and quality-driven treatments that protect patient dignity and fully align with patient aspirations,” Paul T. Conway, AAKP president, said. “Our 2018 Medal of Excellence recipients exceed the highest levels of professional excellence from the patient viewpoint and are superb ambassadors for their respective programs.”

The 2018 honorees include:

  • Rebecca Schmidt, DO, FACP, FASN, who is section chief and professor of medicine for West Virginia University (WVU) School of medicine in the department of medicine – section of nephrology in Morgantown, West Virginia. She leads the mission on outreach and telemedicine for the department of medicine at WVU and serves on the board of directors for ESRD Network 5 and the medical advisory board for AAKP. Schmidt is the past president and first female president of the Renal Physicians Association.
  • Nancy Uhland, NP, is a nurse practitioner in the renal division of the George Washington Medical Faculty Associates in Washington, D.C. and works closely with kidney patients and their caregivers, including patients who receive kidney transplants through the George Washington Transplant Institute and community members engaged through the George Washington University Ron and Joy Paul Kidney Center.
  • Wanda Driggers, LMSW, is a licensed social worker for Fresenius Medical Care for the Myrtle Beach/Hilton Head, South Carolina region. Driggers began her dialysis career in 2001 overseeing social work responsibilities for three clinics and providing social work services to more than 125 patients. Her development of a highly successful patient travel program transitioned her into the position she holds today.
  • Stacey Adams, MPH, RD, CDN, is senior renal dietitian at The Rogosin Institute in New York. She has served the patient population for more than 17 years by assisting with the development of the institute’s nutritional manual and the creation of a nutrition supplement program for high-risk patients.

The Medal of Excellence Award Dinner will take place March 16, 2018 at the Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista Hotel in Orlando, Florida in conjunction with the Renal Physicians Association’s Annual Meeting. Tickets to attend the dinner may be purchased for $125/each at or by calling 813-400-2395.