At its annual conference last month, the National Renal Administrators Association announced its new leadership team for 2017-2018.

“The leadership is confident that with these individuals at the helm, the organization is poised for growth, service and continuing to provide a voice for the independent dialysis providers,” according to a news release from the NRAA.

William Poirier, MBA, BSN, BA, RN, the regional administrator for Greenfield Health Systems in Bingham Farms, Michigan, was inducted as the NRAA’s new president. Julie Williams, administrator and partner at Branson (MO) Dialysis, was elected president-elect. She will serve on the board of directors of the NRAA and as a liaison to assigned committees. She has served as co-chair to the NRAA/RSE Physician Relations Committee and has held positions on the Advocacy Council, Finance and Investment Committee, and Marketing and Membership Council.

NRAA members elected several other individuals to the 2017-2018 board.

  • Treasurer (2-year term): David Oppenlander. He is chief financial officer of Centers for Dialysis Care Inc. and an NRAA member for more than 7 years. Oppenlander has been an NRAA board member since October 2014 and served as co-chair of the NRAA Finance and Investment Board Committee.
  • Board members re-elected to 2-year terms: Rob Bomstad, CEO at Dialysis Centers of Northwest Arkansas LLC in Fayetteville, Arkansas; Helen Currier, director of renal services at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston; Cindy LaMunyon, senior director of reimbursement for Fresenius Medical Centers North America in Mesa, Arizona; Chris Lovell, director of medical informatics and systems at Dialysis Clinic Inc. in Nashville; and Lynn Riesenberg, director of dialysis at St. Anthony Regional Hospital in Carroll, Iowa.
  • Interim directors (1-year term): Caprice Vanderkolk, nurse manager at the University of Minnesota/Fairview Pediatric and Adult Dialysis Center in Minneapolis; Anthony Messana, executive director of renal services at St. Joseph Hospital in Orange, California.