At its annual meeting in Seattle last weekend, the National Renal Administrators Association presented its third annual Maureen Michael Honorary Scholarship award to Denise Simon, manager of the Toiyabe Dialysis program in Bishop, Calif. The scholarship is given out each year to recognize a member who is actively involved in NRAA committees and programs and has expressed interest in future leadership for the organization. It honors Maureen Michael, a co-founding member and former president of the NRAA. Previous winners include Laura Beyer and Janine Diebel.

The NRAA also awarded Jeff Lehman the Mark Zawiski Memorial Award.  Zawiski was an administrator of dialysis clinics in Florida, having worked his way up from a job as a dialysis technician. He was actively involved in the NRAA when he died unexpectedly, leaving behind a wife and two children. The NRAA created the award in 2000.

Lehman, the president of Dialysis Consulting Group Inc. in Seattle, is also president of the board of directors of the Renal Services Exchange, a subsidiary of the NRAA.