The American Association of Kidney Patients announced the winners of the 2014 Medal of Excellence Award:  Allan Collins, MD and Richard Glassock, MD.  The award recognizes visionaries whose insight and perseverance have led to dramatic advances that improve patient care, AAKP said in a news release.  

 “The impressive achievements of these pioneers in kidney disease care are what the AAKP Medal of Excellence program is about,” said AAKP President Sam Pederson. “We are grateful for their commitment to generating the scientific and technical advancements that will ensure patients continue to receive quality care.”

(Alport Syndrome Foundation awards 5 young kidney patients with Paul Silver Tribute Award)

Dr. Allan Collins is the Director of the United States Renal Disease System and has more than 25 years of experience in nephrology and end-stage renal disease treatment. His clinical experience and research have focused on acute and chronic care of ESRD patients and prospective and retrospective focused clinical studies on dialysis techniques and associated outcomes. He has also done extensive work with high-efficiency dialysis and therapy prescription, the technical elements of dialysis, billing systems of ICD-9 and CPT-4 claims elements, and computer systems and operations. 

Dr. Richard J. Glassock is emeritus professor of medicine at the Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California at Los Angeles. Glassock is a graduate of UCLA School of Medicine, and completed his residency at Harvard Medical School and Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Glassock is an internationally recognized expert in the field of glomerular diseases and clinical nephrology, and has lectured in more than 95 countries throughout the world.

(Medical Education Institute releases aid to help match dialysis options with CKD patients)

“These men join an esteemed group of physicians who have excelled in patient care,” stated AAKP Executive Director Gary Green.  “Drs. Collins and Glassock inspire us with their empathy, use their skills to alleviate suffering, and pass their knowledge on to future nephrologists – showing how to provide quality care to those living with kidney disease. This is an honor which both men well deserve.”

AAKP will honor the physicians during the Renal Physicians Association 40th Anniversary Gala March 22, 2014, at the Hilton Baltimore in Baltimore, MD. AAKP will also host a special event recognizing them during the American Society of Nephrology Kidney Week in November 2014.